Limited Civil (Disputes involving $25,000.00 or less – includes unlawful detainers.)
Timeline to Appeal:
With very limited exceptions (see California Rules of Court, Rule 8.823), you must file your notice of appeal within 30 days after the trial court clerk mails or a party serves either a document called a “Notice of Entry” of the trial court judgment or a file-stamped copy of the judgment or within 90 days after the entry of judgment, whichever is earlier. This deadline for filing the notice of appeal cannot be extended. If your notice of appeal is late, the appellate division will not be able to consider your appeal.
This website serves as a general guideline on the appeal process for Limited Civil cases. To learn more you should read Title 8 of the California Rules of Court, Rules 8.843 and 8.880-8.891, which set forth the governing codes on the procedures for Limited Civil cases.
Below are the links to commonly used Appeal forms for Limited Civil cases. Any Judicial Council Form can be obtained at any courthouse or county law library or online. To obtain detailed information for the process of appeals on Limited Civil cases, click here.
- Abandonment of Appeal (Limited Civil Case) APP-107
- Appellant's Notice Designating Record on Appeal (Limited Civil Case) APP-103
- Application for Extension of Time to File Brief (Limited Civil Case) APP-106
- Information on Appeal Procedures for Limited Civil Cases- APP-101-INFO
- Notice of Appeal/Cross-Appeal (Limited Civil Case) APP-102
- Order Concerning Appellant's Proposed Statement on Appeal (Limited Civil Case) APP-105
- Proof of Service (Appellate Division) APP-109
- Proposed Statement on Appeal (Limited Civil Case) APP-104
- Respondent's Notice Designating Record on Appeal (Limited Civil Case) APP-110
- What is Proof of Service? APP-109-INFO
- Fees (Appeal fees start at line #164)