Traffic

Please be advised we are currently experiencing technical difficulties with accepting traffic payments by telephone. If you need to make a payment by phone please check back. Sorry for the inconvenience.


You may handle most traffic-related matters on-line.

Payments: You may make a payment at the court, but rather than go to court, you may want to review the payment options available below. (How to Pay Your Ticket)


Find Information About ...

Traffic School

You may attend Traffic School if you meet the following criteria:

  • Your citation is for a moving violation of the California Vehicle Code.
  • You have not attended traffic school  within the past 18 months for any other violation.
  • If your citation is for speeding, you did not exceed 25 mph over the posted speed limit.
  • You were not operating a commercial vehicle at the time of the violation.
  • Your citation does not contain a charge that requires a mandatory court appearance.
  • You were not cited for alcohol or drugs.
Requesting Traffic School

If you wish to attend traffic school, you must attend a DMV-approved course (see below).  Select one of the following options:

  • Online
  • By telephone: 951.222.0384
  • In person at any Traffic Court location. (see blue shaded box above for locations)
  • By mail: Please make your check or money order payable to “Riverside Superior Court” and note your citation number on the check.   Send your check for the full amount of your fine plus the $57.00 Traffic School processing fee to:

  • Payment Processing Center
    505 S. Buena Vista Rm. 201
    Corona, Ca. 92882

  • You must provide one of the following court codes to the traffic school you attend:
    • Western Region (Banning, Corona, Hemet, Moreno Valley, Murrieta, Temecula): 33460
    • Desert Region (Blythe, Indio): 33450

NOTE: You may request a payment plan for traffic school (a $35 administrative fee will apply). Traffic school payment plans must be paid in three (3) installments. To establish a payment plan online, click here.

Traffic School Lists:

When accessing the above DMV website, click on ‘Start Search’, then ‘Access the system’, then select, ‘Traffic School List’. Click on 'Get Traffic School List' then select from drop down list , ‘Classroom Course, Home Study Course, or Internet Course’. Follow the directions to locate a Traffic School.


NOTE: If you are eligible for traffic school and decide not to attend, your automobile insurance may be adversely affected. One conviction in any 18-month period will not show on your driving record if you complete a traffic violator school program. If you are not eligible to attend but do so anyway, the conviction will be reported on your driving record and there will be no refund of any fees paid.

Requesting an Extension

You are entitled to two 30-day extensions or one 60-day extension from the appearance date on your ticket. You may request an extension online, by mail, or through the Court’s automated telephone system at 951. 222.0384. To request an extension online click here.

For extensions beyond 60 days click here to schedule an appointment with a clerk.

Night Court

The Superior Court of California, County of Riverside offers night court as a service and convenience to our public at the following locations. You may reserve a court date.


Court Night Court

Indio
46200 Oasis
Indio, Ca. 92201

Traffic and Small Claims

1st Tuesday of the month - 5:00 PM

Moreno Valley
13800 Heacock St.  Bldg D #201
Moreno Valley, Ca. 92553
951.222.0384

Traffic and Small Claims
3rd Wednesday of the month - 5:00 PM
Proof of Correction
Correctible Violation Only:

If you have a correctable violation (as noted on your citation) and you are submitting proof of correction, you must send $25 for each corrected violation. You may take your citation to any law enforcement office during normal business hours so the officer can sign the back of your citation. Send the signed Proof of Correction and your check or money order payable to “Riverside Superior Court” to:

Payment Processing Center
505 S. Buena Vista, Rm. 201                                                      
Corona, CA 92882

Your proof of correction may also be paid by credit card and submitted by fax at 951.777.3350. See information about how to fax file.

NOTE: If the fine on your case has already been paid, a proof of correction will not be accepted.

NOTE: Insurance violations may not be signed off or corrected by law enforcement. 

Correctible AND Moving Violation:

If you have both a moving violation and a correctible violation, you must resolve the moving violation at the time of submitting your proof of correction. 

Lost Citations:

If you lost your citation, follow the steps listed below:

Step 1: Download the Certificate of Correction form.
Step 2: To complete the form you will need information from your case. Search for your case number.
Step 3: Follow instructions on the form and return it to the court by mail or fax.  See information about how to fax file.
Send your signed Proof of Correction and your check or money order payable to “Riverside Superior Court” to:

Payment Processing Center
505 S. Buena Vista, Rm. 201
Corona, CA 92882

Mandatory Appearance

If your case requires an appearance, your courtesy notice will indicate MANDATORY APPEARANCE and you must appear in court.  Court appearances are by appointment only and may be reserved online.Leaving Site  Court appearances will be held at the location listed on your ticket.

The following infraction charges require a mandatory appearance:

  • 22348(b) VC - Speed greater than 100 mph
  • 23140(a) VC - Person under 21 years old driving with Blood Alcohol Content of .05 or more
Insurance Violations

Your insurance violation (VC §16028(a)) may be dismissed or the fine may be reduced if you can provide proof you had valid insurance at the time the citation was issued.

  • If your insurance was valid on the date of the violation, the charge will be dismissed with a $25 correction fee.
  • If you obtained insurance after the date of the violation, your fine may be reduced.
  • If you do not provide proof of insurance, you must pay the full fine.
Submitting Proof of Insurance

Your insurance card or insurance policy must contain the following information:

  • Insured's name
  • Policy number
  • Issuance and expiration date
  • Vehicle description
  • License number

NOTE: Insurance violations may not be signed off or corrected by law enforcement. If you obtain insurance after the date of violation, your fine may be reduced. Violations of Vehicle Code §§16020(A) or 16028(C) for insurance cannot be reduced or dismissed.

Note: If the fine on your case has already been paid, a proof of correction will not be accepted.

 
Correctible Insurance Violation AND Moving Violation:

If you have both a moving violation and a correctible insurance violation, you must resolve the moving violation at the time of submitting your proof of insurance.

You may submit your proof of insurance to the court using one of the following options:

  • By fax:  951.777.3350.  See information about how to fax file.
  • In person at any Traffic Court location. (see blue shaded box above for locations)
  • By mail:   Please make your check or money order payable to “Riverside Superior Court” and note your citation number on the check.   Send your check or money order and your proof of insurance to:

Payment Processing Center
505 S. Buena Vista, Rm. 201
Corona, CA  92882

When You Fail to Appear or Pay

If you fail to appear or pay your fine by the due date, the court will mail a Failure to Appear/Pay notice to the address on the citation. If mailed, there is a presumption that the notice has been received. There is no requirement that the court prove that you actually received the notice, only that it was mailed.

What are the Consequences for Failure to Appear/Pay?

If you fail to appear by the date listed on your ticket or to pay your fine by the due date, the court will add a $300 civil assessment and a DMV hold on your driver’s license may apply.  Failing to appear may also result in a wage garnishment and/or lien on your property.

How to Resolve a Civil Assessment

If you received a civil assessment notice, you may pay the fine in full by the due date to avoid further penalties. If a $300 civil assessment was imposed, you may pay this amount plus the original fine or bail. If you pay your fine in full, the DMV hold will be removed and no further action will be required. If you are unable to pay your fine in full, you may request a payment plan.

Contesting a Civil Assessment

If you have good reason that prevented you from making an appearance or paying your citation on or before the due date, you may request that the court remove your civil assessment.  Click here for more information and instructions on how to address your civil assessment.

Requesting a Court Appearance

An appearance in court is not required unless "Mandatory Appearance" is reflected in the amount due section on your courtesy notice. Only the named driver listed on the citation may appear. If you have multiple open traffic citations, the court may schedule ALL open traffic cases for the hearing. NOTE: The law enforcement officer will not be present at the hearing.

You must have your case number or citation number to schedule a court date. This information is located on the citation or the upper right hand corner of your courtesy notice. If you do not have your citation or case number, you may search court records on the court’s website.

You may also pay your citation, request traffic school or request an extension online by visiting ePay-It.

Schedule Court Date

NOTE: Shorts and tank tops are not allowed in the courtroom.

Contesting Your Traffic Ticket (Plead Not Guilty)

Most types of traffic (infraction) offenses can be contested by: (1) requesting a trial by written declaration (this is done by mail – no court appearance necessary) or by: (2) requesting a court trial (court appearance required).

Trial by Declaration

If you request a Trial by Written Declaration, the full bail amount and the trial by written declaration paperwork must be submitted together to the Payment Processing Center at 505 S. Buena Vista, Room 201, Corona, CA 92882. Payments for Trials by Written Declaration may not be posted online.

A Trial by Written Declaration requires that you waive your right to appear, to testify in person and to subpoena witnesses. If you do not waive these rights, you may choose a court trial.  You and the officer will each submit your declaration for judicial review. After review, the judicial officer will make a decision and notify you and the officer of the decision by mail.

You may obtain instructions to contest a trial by written declaration and the mandatory Judicial Council forms online .

Questions About Trials by Written Declaration

  • If I file a trial by declaration, do I still need to appear in court?
  • No. A trial by “written declaration” is a trial in writing, which is a method of pleading not guilty that avoids the to take time off to appear in court. You and the officer who cited you will each submit your statements to the court by mail. The judicial officer will review both statements and renders a decision.

  • Do I get to talk to the judge?
  • No. A judicial officer will decide your case based on the documents you submit and the documents submitted by the officer.

  • How can I challenge inaccuracies in the officer's statement?
  • You will not see the officer’s statement and the officer will not see yours. When you file a trial by written declaration, you agree to give up certain rights, among them the right to confront witnesses testifying against you.

  • Why should I have to pay a fine before trial when I'm not guilty of the offense?
  • California Rule of Court 4.105(c)(1) requires defendants to post the full amount of the bail when requesting a trial by written declaration.

    Court Trial

    If you wish to contest your ticket without depositing bail, you must first appear in court for an arraignment hearing. At the arraignment hearing, you will have an opportunity to request a release on your own recognizance (“O.R.”), enter a plea and obtain a future date for the court trial. You may reserve a court date for arraignment either on-line, by mail, or in person at a traffic court location.

    If you wish to have your arraignment hearing and court trial on the same date, a deposit of bail is required. You must post bail and reserve a court date for arraignment and court trial either on-line, by mail or in person at a traffic court location. Bail deposits submitted by mail should be addressed to: Payment Processing Center at 505 S. Buena Vista, Room 201, Corona, CA 92882.

    Once your case is scheduled for court trial, you and the citing officer will be notified of the date, time, and location. At the trial, you and the officer will each be given the opportunity to testify and present evidence, witnesses or documents that support the case. The judicial officer will review the facts and the law and will make a decision concerning your case.

    Information on how to schedule a court appearance is available above listed under the 'Requesting a Court Appearance' topic. If you need assistance, you may also speak to a telephone operator at 951.222.0384. Operators are available from 7:30 am to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday, except court holidays. You may also schedule an in-person appointment to speak with a clerk.

    Questions About Court Trials
    • Why should I have to pay a fine before trial when I am not guilty of the offense?
    • In accordance with California Rule of Court 4.105, you may contest a ticket without depositing bail. To do so, you must first appear in court for an arraignment hearing. At the arraignment hearing, you will have an opportunity to enter a plea of not guilty, request a release on your own recognizance (“O.R.”) and obtain a future date for your court trial. You may reserve a court date for arraignment either on-line, by mail, or in person at a traffic court location.

      However, if you wish to have your arraignment hearing and court trial on the same day, you will be required to deposit of bail. You can deposit bail and reserve a court date for arraignment and court trial either on-line, by mail or in person at a traffic court location. Bail deposits submitted by mail should be addressed to: Payment Processing Center at 505 S. Buena Vista, Room 201, Corona, CA 92882.

    • What if I need to postpone the trial?
    • You must file a request for postponement at least 10 court (business) days prior to your trial date. Your completed request form will be submitted to the judicial officer for approval. You will be notified of the decision by mail (or by e-mail if you have provided the court with an e-mail address).

      The officer who issued the ticket is also entitled to submit a request to postpone the trial. If this occurs, you will receive a copy of the officer’s request by mail. If you object to the postponement, you have five days to file your objection.   

    • How long will the trial take?
    • You should plan to be at court for three hours or more on the day of trial. Remember to check the date, time, and location.

    • Should I bring my evidence?
    • Yes, If you have photos, diagrams, reports, or any other exhibits that you plan to present, bring them with you on the date of your trial.

    • Should my witnesses attend the trial?
    • Yes, and if needed, the court will issue subpoenas upon request at no cost to you.

    • What should I do when I arrive at the courthouse?
    • Report directly to the department in which your court trial is scheduled.

    • Do I need an attorney when I go to court?
    • An attorney is not required in Traffic Court. However, if you wish to hire an attorney and have the attorney appear at your court trial, you may do so.

    • What if I am found not guilty?
    • If you are found not guilty, the money that was posted will be refunded to you for all charges for which you were found not guilty. Important: If your mailing address changes, it is YOUR responsibility to provide your new mailing address to the Court.

    • What if I do not appear at the time of trial?
    • Your trial may be heard in your absence. You may be found guilty and all the money you posted will be applied to your fine and a conviction will be reported to the DMV, if applicable.

    • Will the officer who issued the ticket be in court?
    • The officer will be subpoenaed to appear in court.

    • What if I disagree with the judicial officer's decision?
    • You may file an appeal within 30 days of the judicial officer’s decision in your case. For more information on filing an appeal, click here.

    Contesting a Judicial Decision (Appeal)

    If found guilty of an infraction violation, you have 30 days to file an appeal. An appeal is not a new trial. The appellate court will review the evidence that was offered at your trial. No new evidence will be considered.

    For more information vist the Appeals page.

    © 2016 Superior Court of California, County of Riverside