Skip to main content
Skip to main content.

Copies of Case Records

Riverside Superior Court's Online Copy Request system allows you to request "plain" (non-certified) and certified copies of documents and minute orders that are not confidential.

Several options are available for processing and delivery of document copies ordered through the Court's Online Copy Request system. Select the case type below for information regarding date ranges that are most likely available online for ordering and delivery options. Also find below instructions on how to order what is not available online.

If you do not know the case number you can search for it online by visiting the Court's Public Access Page.

If you cannot find the court record you are searching for, possibly it has been removed from the database. The Riverside Superior Court routinely purges court records pursuant to Government Code Section 68152 (external site ).

Select the case type below to view date ranges available online.

Non-confidential civil documents are available for download if permitted under the California Rules of Court (external site ). A case number is needed in order to download documents. The fee for document download is $1 per page for the first 5 pages and, $.50 per page for each additional page (per document) with a cap of $50 per document. Document downloads are available for 30 days.

Unlawful Detainer (Evictions) cases are confidential for the first sixty (60) days and cannot be viewed. However, CCP §1161.2(a) provides for access to such cases by interested parties who can, at a minimum, provide one plaintiff’s name, one defendant’s name and the property address. To search for Unlawful Detainer (Eviction) cases select ‘Search Case’ after accessing the public portal.

In-Person Requests

In person record search requests can be made at any of our court locations. Depending on the extent of the records needed, court staff will make every attempt to accommodate the requesting party while he/she waits.

If court staff is asked to complete a record search in person, and the search takes more than 10 minutes, a fee of $15.00 will be assessed pursuant to Government Code section 70627 (c) for each search conducted.

Requests Made Through the Mail

To make a request for copies through the mail, complete the Request for Records Search and/or Copies form (pdf ), provide your credit card information and mail the completed form to the Court.

Checks are payable to the 'Riverside Superior Court'. If the amount owed is known, a check can be submitted with your copy request. If the amount is unknown a 'Not to exceed check' should indicate the amount the check cannot exceed. All checks must be preprinted with the maker's name and address.

Copy requests by mail are fulfilled within 7-15 working days. Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope large enough to accommodate the requested documents. If a self-addressed, stamped envelope with sufficient postage is not provided the court shall include postage fees when completing the check or posting fees to your credit card.

If court staff is asked to complete a record search in person, and the search takes more than 10 minutes, a fee of $15.00 will be assessed pursuant to Government Code section 70627 (c) for each search conducted.

Non-confidential family law documents are available for download (external site ) if permitted under the California Rules of Court (external site ). A case number is needed in order to download documents. The fee for document download is $1 per page for the first 5 pages and, $.50 per page for each additional page (per document) with a cap of $50 per document. Document downloads are available for 30 days.

Certified copies can now be requested online through eSubmit. To request a certified copy of a document, please complete form RI-MC011 (pdf ), and submit it through eSubmit.  Your request could take up to 10 days to process. Alternatively, you may mail your request to the proper courthouse.

Paternity and Adoption cases are not available online. These case types are confidential and information/copies can only be provided to the parties listed on the case. To request copies from an adoption or paternity case, you must come into Court and show picture identification. Family Law Court locations.

Requesting Certified Judgments

You can request a certified copy of a judgment (divorce decree) either in-person or by mail. The fee for a certified copy of a judgment (divorce decree) by a non-public agency is $15.00 (GC 70674).

In-Person Requests

In person record search requests can be made at any of our court locations. Depending on the extent of the records needed, court staff will make every attempt to accommodate the requesting party while he/she waits.

If court staff is asked to complete a records search in person, and the search takes more than 10 minutes, a fee of $15.00 will be assessed pursuant to Government Code section 70627 (c) for each search conducted.

Requests Made Through the Mail

To make a request for copies through the mail, complete the Request for Records Search and/or Copies form (pdf ), provide your credit card information and mail the completed form to the Court.

Checks are payable to the 'Riverside Superior Court'. If the amount owed is known, a check can be submitted with your copy request. If the amount is unknown a 'Not to exceed check' should indicate the amount the check cannot exceed. All checks must be preprinted with the maker's name and address.

Copy requests by mail are fulfilled within 7-15 working days. Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope large enough to accommodate the requested documents. If a self-addressed, stamped envelope with sufficient postage is not provided the court shall include postage fees when completing the check or posting fees to your credit card.

If court staff is asked to complete a records search in person, and the search takes more than 10 minutes, a fee of $15.00 will be assessed pursuant to Government Code section 70627 (c) for each search conducted.

Select non-certified, non-confidential probate documents are available for download (external site ) if permitted under the California Rules of Court (external site ). A case number is needed in order to download documents. The fee for document download is $1 per page for the first 5 pages and, $.50 per page for each additional page (per document) with a cap of $50 per document. Document downloads are available for 30 days.

Certified copies can now be requested online through eSubmit. To request a certified copy of a document, please complete form RI-MC011 (pdf ), and submit it through eSubmit.  Your request could take up to 10 days to process. Alternatively, you may mail your request to the proper courthouse.

Date ranges available online:

Riverside

  • January 1990 to present – Riverside Felonies
  • January 1994 to present – Riverside Misdemeanors
  • November 1996 to present – Banning Felonies
  • November 1996 to present – Banning Misdemeanors
  • December 1996 to present - Mid-County Region Felonies & Misdemeanors

Indio

  • May 1990 to present – Indio Felonies
  • September 1993 to present – All Misdemeanors (ie. Blythe, Indio & Palm Springs)

Both certified and non-certified copies of non-sealed, non-confidential documents and/or minute orders for Criminal and Traffic cases are available if permitted under the California Rules of Court and can be requested using the Online Copy Request system.

**Please Note: ALL Traffic records are purged on a regular basis and can be purged after 3 years if the ticket has been satisfied.**

Juvenile Court cases are confidential. Access to juvenile records is restricted to the minor, parents, or guardians, and/or the attorneys involved in the case. Photo identification is required.

Requests for copies may be made in person at the Juvenile Court location where the case is filed.

If the search takes more than 10 minutes, a fee of $15.00 will be assessed pursuant to Government Code section 70627(c) for each search conducted. The fee for copies is $.50 per page and if certification is requested, an additional $25.00 per document will be assessed. The court does not charge for copies when the minor is making the request.

When requesting copies, please provide the following information:

  • Minor's name
  • Case number
  • Date of birth ( if known)
  • Specific documents requested

Depending on the extent of the records needing research, court staff makes every attempt to accommodate the requesting party while he/she waits.

Copies of Juvenile records CANNOT be requested by mail.

Copy Fees

  • $0.50 per document page [GC §70627(a)]
  • $1.00 per minute order [GC §70627(a)]
  • $40.00 to certify a document or minute order [GC §70626(a)(4)]
  • $15.00 to certify a Family Law Dissolution Judgment (divorce decree) [GC §70674]

Postage

  • $0.60 - 5 pages or less
  • $5.29 - 6 to 50 pages
  • $7.35 - 51 to 100 pages
  • $14.35 - 101 to 500 pages
  • $19.95 - Over 500 pages

There are two ways you can submit a request for the court to conduct a search for you.

A fee of $15.00* will charged [per GC §70627(c)] and can take approximately 15 business days to process.

Checks are payable to the ‘Riverside Superior Court’. If the amount owed is known, a check can be submitted with your copy request. ‘Not to exceed checks’, if the amount is unknown, should indicate the amount the check cannot exceed. All checks must be preprinted with the maker’s name and address.

Copy requests by mail are fulfilled within 7-15 working days. Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope large enough to accommodate the requested documents. If a self-addressed, stamped envelope with sufficient postage is not provided the court shall include postage fees when completing the check or posting fees to your credit card.

*$15.00 fee does not include costs for copies.

Exemplifications cannot be requested online. To request an exemplified copy of a record or document, please complete Form RI-MC002 (pdf ) and mail the completed form to the appropriate courthouse.

Your request could take up to 15 days to process.